Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Words to Remember: Chapter 16

Passover: The feast when the Jewish people celebrate their freedom from slavery in Egypt.

Last Supper: The Passover meal at which Jesus gave us the Eucharist.

Eucharist: The sacrament of Jesus Body and Blood. The word "eucharist" means to give thanks.

Mass: The celebration of the Eucharist.

Sacrifice: A gift offered to God by the priest in the name of the people. Jesus' gift was His life.

Assembly: The people gathered to worship in the name of Jesus Christ.

Holy Days of Obligation: Special feasts on which we are required to attend mass.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Words to Remember: Chapter 15

Sacrament: A special sign given to us by Jesus through which we share God's life and love.

Sacraments of Inititation: Sacraments that join us the Jesus and the Church. They are Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist.

Baptism: We become children of God, members of the Church and are freed from Original Sin.

Original Sin: The first sin committed by human beings.

Confirmation: WE are sealed with the Holy Spirit.

Eucharist: We receive Jesus' body and blood.

Sacraments of Healing: Sacraments that heal us in body or spirit. They are Reconciliation and Annointing of the Sick.

Sacraments of Service: Sacraments that celebrate our vocations. They are Holy Orders and Matrimony.

Holy Orders: The sacrament in which a man becomes a priest.

Matrimony: The sacrament in which a man and a woman are married to each other forever.

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Words to Remember: Chapter 12

Vocation: Gods call to serve Him in a certain way.

Laypeople: Baptized members of the Church who share in the mission to bring the good news of Christ to the world.

Vows: Promises to God.